Nepal stormed to the Tri-Nations T20I series win

Nepal overwhelms Netherlands to clinch Tri-Nations T20I series trophy

Nepal stormed to the Tri-Nations T20I series win after registering a dominant performance against the Netherlands. Kushal Bhurtel and Kushal Malla struck quickfire fifties and then the raining fours and sixes from Gyanendra Malla and Dipendra Singh took the wind out of the Dutch bowlers' sails as they won by a hefty margin of 142 runs and clinched the trophy. 

The Netherlands lost the game in the first half of the match as they conceded a colossal 238 target which is also Nepal's highest score in T20 international cricket history and come to think of it, what better occasion than scoring heaps of runs in the high-stakes final. 

On the contrary, Netherlands managed their lowest score in T20 international as they folded on 96 - the smallest total against Nepal. 

For Dutch, Sebastiaan Braat showed some fight in his 27 balls 26 run knock which was laced with three fours and a maximum while Max O'Dowd got 20 and Pieter Seelaar piled 13 in pursuit of the gigantic total. 

Nepal's bowlers, riding high on confidence after having heaps of runs to defend, bowled exceptionally well. Karan KC snared three batsmen by giving away a meagre 11 runs while Kamal Airee and Sandeep Lamichhane shed two wickets each. Karan KC was adjudged the Player of the match for his match-turning bowling performance. 

Kushal Bhrutel was awarded the player of the series award for his brilliant batting performances throughout the entertaining series; the flamboyant batter racked up 278 runs. The Netherlands would rue the two run-outs which allowed Nepalese bowlers to tighten the grip on the game and choke the visitors. Dutch' bowling was haywire too as wayward deliveries awarded several extras to Nepal who went berserk with the bat, pouncing on Netherlands patchy bowling performance. 

Read more news: